in ,

Watch – Shreyas Iyer Receives His India Test Cap From Sunil Gavaskar Ahead Of 1st Test vs New Zealand At Kanpur

Shreyas Iyer grew to become the 303rd males’s participant to symbolize India in Test cricket when he was chosen within the eleven to face New Zealand within the first Test of the two-match collection, on Thursday on the Green Park in Kanpur.

In the press convention a day earlier than the sport, Ajinkya Rahane, India’s captain for the primary Test in absence of Virat Kohli, had confirmed that Shreyas Iyer will likely be making his Test debut.

Prior to the toss, Shreyas Iyer obtained his debut cap from legendary India batsman and former captain Sunil Gavaskar. Gavaskar had some phrases of knowledge for the debutant, who stood within the workforce huddle alongside head coach Rahul Dravid.

Shreyas Iyer[photo: Twitter]

The 26-year-old kissed his cap earlier than carrying it with pleasure as different gamers congratulated him.

Watch – Shreyas Iyer Receives His India Test Cap From Sunil Gavaskar

Shreyas Iyer will take a middle-order spot within the absence of Virat Kohli, who has been rested for the primary Test, and Hanuma Vihari, who is distributed on the India A tour of South Africa. Iyer has been chosen over Suryakumar Yadav, who was a late addition to the Test squad after KL Rahul’s damage.

The right-hander has an excellent first-class file – he has scored 4592 runs in 54 first-class matches, at a median of 52.18 and a strike charge of 81.54. Shreyas Iyer has slammed 12 centuries and 23 fifties in these matches.

Ajinkya Rahane wins the toss and elects to bat first; India play three spinners

Ajinkya Rahane gained the toss and selected to bat first in Kanpur. He introduced that India are entering into with a powerful spin trio of Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, and two senior pacers – Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav – will help them.

Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal are the openers in absence of Rohit Sharma (rested) and KL Rahul (injured) whereas Wriddhiman Saha will get a sport as Rishabh Pant has been rested.

Ajinkya Rahane
Ajinkya Rahane. Image-Twitter

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson made a few daring calls, by not together with Neil Wagner and Mitchell Santner. Instead, spin bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra makes his debut and can pair with spinners Ajaz Patel and Will Somerville. Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson are the 2 pacers.

India: Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Will Sommerville, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel

Also Read: IPL 2022: MS Dhoni To Be Retained By CSK For Next Three Seasons, Rishabh Pant Will Continue To Lead Delhi Capitals – Reports

Gwyneth Paltrow’s Parents: Everything To Know About Actress Blythe Danner & Her Late Dad Bruce

CSA Confirms South African Team Will Take The Knee For Netherlands And India Series